Message from the Dean

The College of Fine Arts at The University of Arizona consists of four professional schools: the School of Art, School of Dance, Fred Fox School of Music, and the School of Theatre, Film and Television. Accomplished faculty and alumni contribute to the College’s world-class reputation and to Tucson’s popular identity as ‘The City of Arts.’

As artists, designers, educators, and scholars of the arts, we are committed to the continued expansion of our knowledge, talents, and skills. Our goal is to integrate new art forms and innovative technologies with strong foundations and traditional studies. The blending of ‘cutting edge’ innovation and conservatory-style training, underpinned by academic rigor, prepares students in all disciplines for successful careers in the arts.

The divergent structure of our programs continually addresses the shifting nature of art. Each member of our faculty maintains strong enthusiasm, taking inspiration from his or her own work and research, and at the same time inspiring students to accomplish their fullest potential. A long tradition of distinguished faculty has created the best possible environment for programmatic excellence in art, dance, music, theatre, film and television.

As Dean, I invite you on a journey that is full of challenges, exciting twists and turns, and moments of great joy as you pursue your dream of being an artist, scholar, educator, creator. To support you in that journey, we in the College of Fine Arts at the University of Arizona will maintain our long-term reputation as a leading institution for the study and production of the arts. But it is your trip to take, and your privilege to determine the final destination.


Jory Hancock
Dean, College of Fine Arts